Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board advises the rector on all the foundation's scientific matters. The rector appoints the institute’s fellows on the basis of recommendations from the board. The board consists of scientists who represent one of the four fields of research at the Hanse-Wissenschaftskolleg. Six members are appointed by the Foundation Board; additional members are co-opted by the Scientific Advisory Board. Memberships may last for a term of four years. Reappointment for a second period is admissible.


  • Prof. Dr. med. Stephan Brandt, Charité – Universitätsmedizin, Berlin
  • Prof. Dr. Ophelia Deroy, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
  • Prof. David Poeppel, PhD, Max-Planck-Institut für empirische Ästhetik, Frankfurt/Main and New York University, USA

  • Prof. Dr. Helge Ritter, Universität Bielefeld, also Vice Chair
  • Prof. Dr. Christine R. Rose, Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf


  • Prof. Dr. Antje Boetius, Alfred-Wegener-Institut, Helmholtz Centre for Polar- and Marine Research, Bremerhaven
  • Prof. Dr. Henk Brinkhuis, Royal Netherlands Institute for Sea Research (NIOZ), Texel and Universiteit Utrecht, The Netherlands
  • Prof. Dr. Sabine Kasten, Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz-Centre for Polar- and Marine Research, Bremerhaven and Universität Bremen

  • Prof. Dr. Michal Kucera, MARUM – Center for Marine Environmental Sciences, University of Bremen

  • Prof. Dr. Katharina Pahnke-May, Institute for Chemistry and Biology of the Marine Environment (ICBM), Carl von Ossietzky Universität Oldenburg


  • Prof. Dr. Wolfram Jaegermann, Technische Universität Darmstadt
  • Prof. Dr. Michael Muskulus, Norges teknisk-naturvitenskapelige universitet, Trondheim, Norway
  • Prof. Dr. Sabine Szunerits, Université Lille Nord de France


  • Prof. Dr. André Bächtiger, Universität Stuttgart
  • Prof. Dr. Karsten Speck, Carl von Ossietzky Universität Oldenburg
  • Prof. Dr. Lucia Quaglia, Università di Bologna, Italy
  • Prof. Dr. Stefan Traub, Helmut-Schmidt-Universität/Universität der Bundeswehr Hamburg
  • Prof. Dr. Ingo H. Warnke, Universität Bremen, also Chair