Foundation Board

The Foundation Board of the Hanse-Wissenschaftskolleg setts the guidelines for the work of the foundation, appoints its chair (who is also rector) and decides on its budget.


  • Dr. Claudia Schilling, Senator for Science and Ports of the Free Hanseatic City of Bremen

Vice Chairperson

  • Falko Mohrs, Minister for Science and Culture, Lower Saxony


  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christian Berg, Lecturer; Steering Committee of the Deutsche Gesellschaft Club of Rome
  • Prof. Dr. Ralph Bruder, President, Universität Oldenburg
  • Petra Gerlach, Mayor of the City of Delmenhorst
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Ellen Ivers-Tiffée, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
  • Dr. Olaf Joachim, Privy Council, Plenipotentiary of the Free Hanseatic City of Bremen to the Federation
  • Christian Meyer, Minister for the Environment, Energy and Climate Protection, Lower Saxony
  • Dr. h.c. Thomas Reiter, formerly European Space Agency (ESA)
  • Prof. Dr. Jutta Günther, Rector, Universität Bremen
  • Prof. Dr. Monika Unzeitig, Universität Greifswald

In an advisory capacity

  • Prof. Dr. Ingo H. Warnke, Universität Bremen
  • Prof. Dr. Kerstin Schill, Rector of the Hanse-Wissenschaftskolleg, Delmenhorst