Participants at a HWK-event
The Fellowship Program

The Hanse-Wissenschaftskolleg promotes excellent science through fellowships for exceptional international scientists, artists and authors from all fields of research or work.

The fellowships of the Hanse-Wissenschaftskolleg offer outstanding scientists the opportunity to focus on research without the distractions of everyday academic life, to exchange ideas with colleagues from other disciplines, and to benefit from a diverse and vibrant fellowship community. 

Through its fellowship program, the Hanse-Wissenschaftskolleg promotes scholarship and research in the natural sciences, humanities, and social sciences, benefiting not only the individual fellow but also the scientific community at regional research institutions. Funding for individual scientists is distributed among a number of fellowship opportunities of varying types and durations.

Regular and junior fellowships are currently offered in the four research areas of the HWK's scientific program: BRAIN, EARTH, ENERGY, SOCIETY, and the ARTS & LITERATURE area. Both types of fellowships are awarded based on a specific application process. Details can be found here

 

It is the interdisciplinary climate that characterizes work at the Hanse-Wissenschaftskolleg.
Prof. Dr. Mark E. Hauber, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Please refer to the following table regarding details on rules that apply to the aforementioned as well as all other fellowship categories. Please note that these rules are subject to change on short notice.

Regular Fellowship

Junior Fellowship

Twin Fellowships

Associate Fellowship

Associate Junior Fellowship

Artist in Residence

Writer in Residence

Postdoc-Programm

The Postdoc Program was created at the Hanse-Wissenschaftskolleg to promote young scientists. It supports talented young scientists in expanding their own careers by sponsoring their own event and offering them the opportunity to participate in events at the Hanse-Wissenschaftskolleg.

Members of the program are associate junior fellows (see above). Membership in the program is limited to three years and participants remain employed at their regional home institution. Applications are accepted in response to an annual call for applications with an application deadline of the end of February.

More on the Postdoc Program and the application procedure

Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer eines Postdoc-Workshops

Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer einer HWK-Veranstaltung
Das Fellowship-Programm

Das Hanse-Wissenschaftskolleg fördert exzellente Wissenschaft durch Fellowships für herausragende internationale Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, Künstlerinnen und Künstler und Autorinnen und Autoren aus allen Fachbereichen.

Die Fellowships des Hanse-Wissenschaftskollegs bieten herausragenden Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern die Möglichkeit, sich ohne Ablenkung durch den akademischen Alltag auf die Forschung zu konzentrieren, sich mit Kolleginnen und Kollegen aus anderen Disziplinen auszutauschen und von einer vielfältigen und lebendigen Fellowship-Gemeinschaft zu profitieren. 

Mit dem Fellowship-Programm fördert das Hanse-Wissenschaftskolleg Wissenschaft und Forschung in den Natur-, Geistes- und Gesellschaftswissenschaften, wovon nicht nur der einzelne Fellow, sondern auch die wissenschaftliche Gemeinschaft in den regionalen Forschungseinrichtungen profitiert. Diese Förderung individueller Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler setzt sich aus einer Reihe verschiedener Fellowship-Angebote unterschiedlicher Art und Dauer zusammen.

Regular und Junior Fellowships werden derzeit in den vier Forschungsbereichen des wissenschaftlichen Programms des HWK angeboten: BRAIN, EARTH, ENERGY, SOCIETY und der Bereich ARTS & LITERATURE. Beide Arten von Fellowships werden auf der Grundlage eines spezifischen Bewerbungsverfahrens vergeben. Details finden Sie hier

Es ist das interdisziplinäre Klima, welches das Arbeiten am Hanse-Wissenschaftskolleg auszeichnet.
Prof. Dr. Mark E. Hauber, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Die Details der Regeln, die für diese sowie die übrigen Fellowships gelten, entnehmen Sie bitte der folgenden Übersicht. Bitte beachten Sie, dass sich die Bedingungen kurzfristig ändern können.

Regular Fellowship

Junior Fellowship

Twin Fellowships

Associate Fellowship

Associate Junior Fellowship

Artist in Residence

Writer in Residence

Postdoc-Programm

Für die Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses wurde am Hanse-Wissenschaftskolleg das Postdoc-Program geschaffen. Es unterstützt begabte Early Career Researcher durch die Förderung einer eigenen akademischen Veranstaltung und die Möglichkeit der Teilnahme an HWK-Veranstaltungen beim Ausbau der eigenen Karriere.

Mitglieder des Programms werden als Associate Junior Fellows geführt (siehe oben). Die Mitgliedschaft im Programm ist auf drei Jahre begrenzt und die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer bleiben an ihrer regionalen Heimatinstitution beschäftigt. Die Bewerbung erfolgt auf eine jährliche Ausschreibung mit einer Bewerbungsfrist Ende Februar.

Näheres zum Postdoc-Programm und zur Bewerbung

Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer eines Postdoc-Workshops